Solstice Blessings Thrice Over / Solstice to Imbolc Reading

Blessings to one and all on Solstice Day!

We’ve reached the end of the cycle, the interim dark before the Light begins to finally return.  A time for reflection, gratitude and connection.  Personally, today marks the end of my trial run with the Morrigan and the beginning of the end of the year known as 2016.

1221160748a

Sunrise on the Winter Solstice 2016.

I learned something interesting a few days ago about the power of 3 and the sneakiness of ancient Christians which I wanted to share here.  As we know, the Winter Solstice marks the first point where the days begin to grow longer.  What I didn’t know is that from the naked, primordial eye, the sun appears to hover around the same point on the horizon every dawn for 3 days.  For that time we are in the middle dark.  Then, after that time period the sun finally begins to move along the horizon again and the days grow longer.

I’ve always been a fan of liminal spaces, those spaces of the in-between.  The edges and areas of transition.  for me, it’s where Magic happens.  3 days of middle dark.   Finding this out was quite a relief to me as now I have three days to do the work I used to cram into one!

This Solstice morning was a peaceful, gorgeous event.  I was up early so as to start card readings right at the moment of Solstice.  I did one for myself and then proceeded to work my way to a few other subjects.

When I do a reading for all of you and put it here on the blog I have to change up my focus a bit.  My question goes from a pinpoint to a wide spread spectrum.  The question I usually ask is, “For anyone seeing this reading, what do they need to know?”  This goes for my Moon phase reading or, for instance, the reading below.   In this case I asked, “From Solstice and until Imbolc, Feb 1st, 2017, what wisdom is needed?”

I drew the cards with my pendulum.  I had intended to only draw one card but I continually find that one card for such a large span of time usually comes up short.   So, in my typical “conversational style” I drew a second and then a third card with no real question in the layout.  The timeline stated in the question helped frame things a little, of course.  I talk a little about upcoming time marks in the reading.   Though the cards were meant as a conversation even a conversation has a beginning, a middle and an end.

Again, the power of 3.

I had originally planned on putting this reading on Youtube but, surprise surprise, technical issues raised their Mercury retrograde head.

Here’s the reading and then my commentary is below.

1221160638a

 

First –  Ace of Swords

Ace of Swords.  Beginnings.  Mental Clarity.  Cutting through confusion and finding a way forward.  Seeing through illusions.  The first thing I noticed was the landscape and the holly and oak hanging off of the crown.   You could say this card itself is very much the Winter Solstice.   The clarity of a cold winter day.  This is telling us that this Solstice marks a new beginning, a time to cut through confusion and to see through illusion.   The energy is there and we have already begun to see it in action.   This mental acuity will play itself out over the holiday season and will be available as we move forward into the new year.

Second – The Tower

And… here we go again.  I don’t know how many times the pendulum has pulled the Tower card for situations since Samhain.  It’s not quite becoming normal but it’s not unexpected anymore either.    All of that mental clarity over the past few weeks will combine into another time period where winds will blow and previously believed strongholds will fall.  Tis’ the season for knocking things, ideas and concepts over, both personal, political and metaphysical.  Remember, the Tower card typically covers things that NEED to be knocked down and over.  Try to keep that in mind.    If nothing else this is just confirmation that the intensity which has been rolling around us for the past several weeks will be continuing.

Third – The Moon

Amidst the Tower we may be a bit confused and not sure how to proceed.  Fears and confusion.  However, that’s IF we look at things with our physical eyes.  Keep your inner eyes and your intuition going strong and you’ll be able to see the path.   This will be a time when intuition and inner guidance will be key.    Don’t let illusions fool you and remember that Ace of Swords card!  Those of us already versed at this will be able to navigate this properly and will be able to hear the information we need  The full moon falls on January 12th and will be throwing  it’s weight into things as well.  (I’m actually interested to see how the next moon phase reading overlays with this one!)

Overview

Ok, now, let’s throw all of that together.  We all hate it when the cards don’t give us the happy, shiny picture we had wanted to hear.  I know it looks daunting but I heard this with my inner ear as I was typing the post, “Just because it’s dark doesn’t mean it’s bad.”  Keep that in mind.

From right now and for the next several weeks, we have some very strong energy going for us involving clarity AND the ability to cut through crap.  This is very important because we will need it when the Tower starts up again.  The good news?  We’re getting better at riding out these lightning strikes.

The Ace of Swords is going to be with us through the most of the high winds and heavy water ahead.  Find your clarity over the Yuletide.  What is important to you?  What is your focus?  It combined with the Moon reinforces that reason will be needed over the next few months.  The urge to overreact to fears and shadows might be overwhelming but keep your intuition and inner ear sharp.  There are treasures to be found in the moonlit swamp.  You just need to stay focused.  I also feel that it will be very important for those that know how to wield their intuition and awareness will be needed to help those that are getting knocked off kilter and wandering around in a dark place.

Enjoy this holiday season and find the blade of reason which will help you heading into the new year.

Peace and Strength!

 

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

One response to “Solstice Blessings Thrice Over / Solstice to Imbolc Reading

  • Layered Tarot Readings | Along A Different Path

    […] I’ve been mulling over an idea for some time and this afternoon it finally dawned on me how to present it.  As a new card reader I would often “fire and forget” my readings.  Having acquired the information I would then move along and forget the implication of the reading instead of “layering” the old reading into the energy of the new reading.  It’s a beginner’s mistake but over time I did begin to do this.  As I grew more experienced I became interested in how the energies of one reading could and would blend into another, especially if two or more readings occupied the same temporal time space like, for instance, from the Winter Solstice to Imbolc. […]

Leave a Reply

