Keeping On Track

(Note – This was originally drafted on Nov 6th, just before the election.)

Since Samhain things have continued to move forward, the flog clearing.  A few things have come up since then and I thought that even if it turns into a short post I would catch you up.  Since my last post I have been very focused on making sure the fog does not “slip back in.”  I’ve started a few routines to help with it.  I’m sure some of you may already do these things.  If not, perhaps they might give you some ideas of your own.

leaves2

 

At least twice a day, I re-affirm the magic and spirituality of life

What I mean by this is I try to take some time, at least twice a day, to really appreciate Spirit.  I do this in different ways.  This may be a short as a minute or two or it might be longer.  It just depends on what is going on and how much time I have in the morning or the evening.  It can be a simple thought about spirit or ancestors, a musing on the interconnected nature of everything while sitting quietly, or perhaps just stopping to count my breath for a few moments while I watch a spider at lunch.

I  started a magical / paranormal journal

This has been started several times but it always crashed and burned.  This was because I was stuck on it being handwritten and having all the different aspects of my magical life crammed into one tome.  My hand would often cramp up from trying to get everything in there and I found valuable free time going to catching up on my entries instead of doing a reading or experimenting with dowsing.  I started a digital journal, created some tags to help me find things and began to document this new phase of my life.   I agreed with myself that I would hold no reservation on how long or how short an entry may be and I could enter multiple entries a day if I wished.  There are no rules.  It has helped immensely.

I ask myself, “What is Spirit trying to tell me here?”

In any situation, from a stressful work moment to a peaceful lunch among falling autumn leaves, I pause and ask that simple question. I ask gently.  Then, I take a few seconds and just listen.  Sometimes there is no answer and I don’t push for one.  Other times I’ve heard some really great answers.

I relaxed and gave up.

Let me be clear, this was not in a depressing way.  I’ve just started to just let things be… well… things.  I’ve stopped pushing so much for answers.  Better yet, you could say I’ve stopped pushing for the answers I wanted to hear.

And that’s it.  I just try to pay attention more and work towards not going “unconscious” again.

It feels good.

I feel like I’m coming back around to a place of solidity which I have not seen in a long, long while.

 

 

 

3 responses to “Keeping On Track

  • Jessica Macbeth

    Third try… I wrote a really long post, but WordPress ate it and the second, shorter one as well. What it amounted to is that I think I get it. If I’m fundamentally a person who is ‘chaotic good’, I don’t need fixing or organizing and I’ll resist myself when I try to be organized. Minimum rules! Journal wherever. If I really need to see it again it will turn up, but it helps me to know what I think if I write it down whereas thoughts just tend to slither around. That’s not exactly what you were saying, but you helped me get there. Thank you!

  • danijordanbailey99

    Lovely post! Please check out my first blog! Please follow me and comment ideas for my ‘nature and animal’ based daily fact… animal of the week… all round blog 🙂 ps, what would your animal of the week be????

    • Rustus

      Just saw this post as WordPress tried to throw it in the Spam folder. Apologies! I’ve looked at your blog and enjoy it. Animal of the week would have to be either Blue Heron, Coyote or Crow. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

