By Any Other Name…

Just taking a brief moment to talk about a small but significant change for me.  A few weeks ago I realized I needed to change my magical name.  I liken it to the feeling a snake or a crab must have when it is time to shed their skin or shell.  It started as a minor irritation, a grumbling.  Then, as time progressed, aggravation rose steadily along with a persistent need to “get it done.”  I told a dear friend of mine, “It’s like a loose tooth, a constant distraction, I keep wiggling it and won’t leave it alone.”  (And big thanks to that dear and beloved friend who helped me through the later bits of this challenge! ;D  )

I began to make lists and to go through search websites.  The part that needed changed was the surname; Stonemagus.  I no longer liked it.  It felt too contrived, corny even.  I had outgrown it.  So, I began the quest of name shopping and researching, trying on different names like clothes.

And that is really what you do with a name, right?  In the big scheme of things they are NOT that important.  I think of the old wise wizard tradition from Gandalf to Merlin to Obi-Wan Kenobi, “I’m known by many names, none of which are important.”  They can come and go like clothes and yet they are important because they carry an energy, they tell something about you.  Like a good suit, a fancy cloak or a beloved sweater, it can speak volumes.  It says something about the wearer.   And even though he went by many names, Gandalf still changed his to signify his change after fighting the balrog in Moria.

Nothing seemed to be “just right” and so, I stepped away for a few days.  Of course, as it goes, around this last full moon, I found what I was looking for while searching for something else.  Funny how that works, right?

I did a card reading to review the name.  I ended up using a single card from three of my favorite decks currently; The Wildwood Tarot, The Enchanted Map and The Faeries Oracle.  Like normal, they did not let me down..

namereading

Card 1 – Wildwood: Five of Bows, Empowerment (Initiative, moving forward, strength, purpose.)
Card 2 – Enchanted Map: Moonlight (intuition, following your gut, note the fairy in the picture ;D )
Card 3 – Faeries Oracle (The Fey’s opinion): She of the Cruach  (Support and nurturing.  Replenishment.  Care.)

Like most of my readings these days, it was straight and to the point.  Some quick notes: The Five of Bows was drawn yesterday as my “Wisdom” card for the next few days and then, even after a good shuffle, it turned up here.  The Enchanted Path, Moonlight card I found to be wonderful because there is a Fey in the picture.  (This will make more sense in a moment.)  When I drew the Enchanted Path card I had not planned to draw a Faeries Oracle card in this reading due to time.  As you can see, the Fey decided to add some commentary anyway.

After drawing the Moonlight card I had to laugh and, with an apology, drew the third card specifically to check in with the Fey.  It would appear they give their blessing, sending one of my favorite Singers to let me know.

And so, I’ve chosen the surname of Sidhean.  It is an old Gaelic word for a “hill where the fairies live.”  Given the work I often do with nature spirits and the Fey, I feel it’s quite appropriate (and the punchline featured in the second card!)  I imagine I’ll wear it for awhile until I start to feel that familiar bit of itching and, once again, have to go for a change.  Hopefully, I won’t need to fight a Balrog to do so!

Thanks for reading!
~Rustus Sidhean ~

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

Leave a Reply

