New Steps

For the first time since I closed down the blog and simultaneously re-opened it, I believe I am beginning to see some things take form. My last post on my power dream and the flowers was placed purely from an intuitive “push” that occurred with me. I suppose I could jokingly say I was simply “following orders.” I was not sure where it would lead. Now, it appears it was but the first stone on the new path.

I celebrated my birthday this past weekend. After a wonderfully long hike in the woods where I had my Vision Quest, the later part of it was going to a large, local bookstore and, with money in my pocket, simply looking for a good title to read. Again, I was just following an intuitive nudge that something was waiting for me there.  I had recently found myself interested again in Carl Jung, his Red Book and his Alchemical work again and was hoping to find something on the shelf. Perhaps that was it? I knew it was a long shot for an eccentric title to be on a big box bookstore but I felt it was worth it. When I got there, of course, The Jung section consisted of only two or three typical Jung titles that I had already read. So, continuing to follow the intuition. I decided to do some body dowsing.

I promise to go into detail on this with another post but, in short, body dowsing is something that can be done when you find yourself without a pendulum or rods OR you are in a spot where it might not be a good idea to bring them out, for instance in a crowded bookstore at Holiday time on the weekend. It’s a way of allowing your body to give you a physical reaction or movement based on the binary system of “yes” or “no.” I’ve had moderate success with it and this was as good a time as any.

Standing in the store, I calmed myself, reached out for that peace and mindfulness of being in the Now and asked, “Is there a title here that I should look at and purchase?” “Yes.” “Can I be directed there?” “Yes.”

As I turned slightly in the store looking around I waited for the “yes” trigger to fire which would point me in the direction I needed to go. For me, it’s the twitch of a particular finger.  After some trial and error I got a distinct line that, go figure, directed me to the metaphysical section. Following the line and after a series of further dowsing I found myself holding a paperback book on Lucid Dreaming. Given my past power dream and my numerous thoughts about it since, I was fascinated.

To add more depth to the situation, earlier in my life, in my late 20’s, I had looked into and worked with a dream journal and with lucid dreaming. Standing there in the bookstore, flipping through the pages of the paperback, I remembered that time period fondly but could not, for the life of me, remember why I had stopped! Had it gotten too “weird?” Had I just become distracted by something else? What had pulled me away? I still do not know. I even remember possibly owning the very book that I held in my hand. It certainly looked familiar to me.  (Somewhere, in the aether, you could maybe hear a spirit guide-like chuckle or maybe it was a faery laugh?)

The decision to purchase the book was instant and natural. No decision making, no maybe this or maybe that. It came as natural as taking the next step when walking.

After three days of reading and one or two very interesting experiences with dreaming and visualization, it struck me this morning that all of it could, and would, make an interesting subject to carry onward with the blog.  However, there’s something more to it that excites me about working with it and writing about it.

It’s not my intention to simply write about my re-found experiences with lucid dreaming and resharpening my skill with it as a stand alone subject. What I wish to do is to bring it to and combine it with my other work with earth energy, spirit, manifestation, dowsing and divination. The goal is to combine lucid dreaming with my interest in Jung’s active imagination work, mindfulness, and Tolle’s theories of the Now to pull all these elements together and, hopefully, leverage them to their full extent.

In other words, I want to push my experience a bit and see what happens! What can be learned and, more importantly for this space, what can be shared?

It’s still early in the process and, given that I just had this realization about five hours ago, even that is an understatement!  But, it feels right and correct.  There is a hum to it that I like so I’ll keep moving toward it and see what happens.

Light and Peace to all.

More to come!

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

Leave a Reply

