Enter the Swan – The First Ally

It’s always inspirational to me how Spirit reveals itself once you start down one of these Pathways.  It shows itself in side comments, chance occurrences.  If you are not paying attention you can, and will, miss them.

It was only one day after the Pathway spread that the Swan showed itself.  I was watching a television show on one of my favorite subjects, the Oak Island Mystery.  A guest on the show was stating that he had tracked clues from several sources including the constellation of the Northern Cross also known as Cygnus or… the Swan.  It caught my attention immediately.  The guest went on to talk about the Kabbalah Tree of Life and how the cross was placed within it and would thus give clues to marker or treasure locations.

After the show I immediately began to research Cygnus and found this interesting tidbit on the Order of Ovates, Bards and Druids website. “Among Druids, the Swan represents the soul, and is associated with the Festival of Samhain. (That would make two cards in the Path Spread directly related to Samhain!)  The swan aids us in traveling to the Otherworld. Swans are also sacred to Bards, and their skin and feathers were used to make the tugen, the ceremonial Bardic Cloak.”

Most importantly to me was the fact that the White Swan was one of the symbols of Brigit or Bride.   I did not know this previously.  It is with her that I have a significant relationship after an event that occurred to me with her on the night of Imbolc.  At some point I may tell the tale but suffice it to say I dreamed of her visit that night before I knew she did such things on Imbolc.

Other interesting pieces was from the Native American side of things — “Swan tells Dragonfly in legend, “I learned to surrender my body to the power of Spirit and was taken to where the future lives. I saw many wonders high on Sacred Mountains and because of my faith and my acceptance I have been changed. I have learned to accept the state of grace.” Swan is the bird who may enter the Dreamtime and bring back knowledge and healing to the tribe. Swan medicine “teaches us to be at one with all planes of consciousness, and to trust in Great Spirit’s protection.”

Now, go back and re-read that with the added reminder of the Pathway card for my current path being the Mirror or, in classical Tarot, the Hanged Man.

And, obviously, I also found a significant bit of information connecting Cygnus, the Swan, with early Christianity.  To top it all off I found some references to cosmic rays coming from the direction of the Cygnus constellation and bombarding Earth since time began.

Cygnus_plate11

What was I being told here?  The spirit of Swan was most definitely making itself known to me and this, in turn, went hand in hand with my first marker, the Page of Stones and with my first challenge The Seer.  To put it all together I decided to write out a passage of dialogue.  What was being said to me.  This is what I came up with…

“Remember, you are on a path of reflection, knowledge and patience.  You are preparing to leave the past behind and move forward. You must move slowly, attentively and allow yourself to be led by the Dark Lady of Knowledge.  Do not forget to use your inner voice, your trained Seer intuition to listen to what the Swan, and the Dark Lady, is telling you.”

The above helped me to remember to slow down.  I had spent a good chunk of my waking time trying to absorb the information from Swan and it was now time to settle down, time to listen to the quiet, still, sacred voice.  There was a lot to parse through here and most likely the only way to find what was necessary and crucial was to trust my inner Seer voice.  This could only be attained through prayer and meditation.  I decided I would attempt more work on it with the coming Full Moon.

And then, just yesterday, in the first chilly mornings of November while driving my wife to work in an busy, urban setting guess what flew over, directly in front of our car?  A male blue heron.  I’ll refer you back to the first card in the Pathway spread for that little nugget.

The path had most definitely begun!

Cygnus, LyraQuick Update – Just before posting this I stumbled onto a great astronomy page that is nicely written with good info on Cygnus and the stars that make it up.  The tasty tidbit that struck me was this.. “during December, just before Christmas, the Northern Cross sits upright on the north-western horizon for northern hemisphere viewers.

Doesn’t “just before Christmas” mean Winter Solstice?  Hard to ignore that as “coincidence.”

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

One response to “Enter the Swan – The First Ally

Leave a Reply

