Departure

I leave in about an hour.  The backpack is packed full to brimming with some clothes, a minimum of food, my cards and other sacred items.  I’m still trying to decide if I need to lug the full water weight I’ve got loaded.  I have a destination but I did not get time to scout it out.  I’ve never been there before so I’m sure THAT will be exciting.  I’ve dowsed a location that turns out to be a fairly large ridge top in a nearby State Forest.  It’ll be about a 2 mile hike from where I’m dropped off by my wife.  She will come and get me late Saturday afternoon.  I’d stay a bit longer but I’ve decided to give myself Sunday to recover before jumping back into 21st Century workflow.

Wednesday morning a host of thunderbirds flew over my county.  They crashed and banged and flashed.  It was spectacular and it was the first “big” thunderstorm we’ve had here so far.  The energy felt pure and charging.  I had a hard time not thinking they might be for me and my quest that started today.  The storms have gone now and here, in the few days I dowsed so many months ago, is a set of near perfect camping days in early June; highs of 80, lows of high 50’s at night.  Again, I had to smile when I saw it all develop.  This morning was crisp and clear and felt brand new.

I have no idea what is in store for me.  I am simply answering a summons that I should have answered last year.  I may not report back everything.  I will need to hold something close, sacred.  Others, if I feel it is alright, I will share.  I will try to take pics and some video but I do not want my phone to go completely dead and I have no way to charge it for three days so it will be off most of the time.  I do not think I even have a signal but I will try to bring back some of the magic along the way.

I drew a Wildwood card today as I was thinking about my packing.  I asked what I needed to know the most about my packing.  It responded with this…

9ofStones

Tradition.  Right.  Got it.  This is one of the reasons I’m thinking of losing the water and filtering what I need once out there.  It’s also why I have a large bundle of sage and tobacco and corn meal.  It’s why I’m taking a pendulum and my dowsing rods.  It’s about remembering the sheer basics and no fluff.  It’s why I’m leaving my fishing gear behind and the novel I thought about reading.  It’s not about that stuff.  It’s about meeting with Goddess, not a camping trip.

I drew one other card this morning as I watched the sun begin to turn the eastern sky yellow.  I asked about the quest, about what I needed to know about today, about the hike, about camp this evening, about all of it.  It seemed to give me a smile and replied with this.

WorldTreeThe Wildwood version of the  Universe card.

So, there it is.  It’s time to give everything up, drop any doubts or fears and to wander into the woods and to see what Spirit has to say.

Be a light in the darkness.  Be a channel for the wind and the Sun and Spirit.

Strength and Light,

Rustus

 

 

 

 

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

Leave a Reply

