Planning the Quest

With the “Coming of the Thunders” I’ve spent quite a bit of quiet time meditating on WHAT exactly I need to get prepared to go and being thankful I’m being given time in advance.  WHERE I am going to go is of far less importance.  I have several options of decent, deep wilderness to hike off into when I need it.  There are other questions like “WHAT I’m bringing with me” and “How I’m going to do it?” which are far more pressing!  The last time I did this sort of thing, wandering off into the woods on a vision quest, I was not married, had no kids, no dog and part time work.  I left work, stopped by my apartment to grab my pack and a few things and then, whoosh, off I went!  Things are, to say the least, a little different now and I am glad I am getting a few weeks or possible months worth of advance notice from the Spirits That Be.

The top four concerns are supplies, physical condition, spiritual condition and something I guess I’ll call Event Logistics (date of event, time off work, time from family, care of the kids and dog, etc.)

I’m currently making a list of the supplies and equipment I need to dig out of storage.  I’m pretty decided on going very minimalist in my trip so I may very well be forgoing a tent or anything too heavy.  At best, I’ll be taking a few large tarps and making a shelter when I get there.  One of my other concerns is water over three days.

I will be drinking very little but I will still need water as I’m not of the hardcore camp of going totally without for several days.  I’ve discovered in my spiritual life that it is not necessary to hit yourself over the head with a rock so you can feel better when you stop!  In other words, I will cut back a bit on water but I’m not going to dehydrate myself in order to have a spiritual experience.  I’ve found I don’t need to do that and the Fey and other spirits, in my opinion, find it a bit silly.  I’ll need to decide how much water I want to bring in and how much I want to try and purify in the bush.  I’m much to broke to afford a good water filtration system so may need to stick with boiling and water tablets or I might break down and buy a lower end emergency water straw.  I’m still shopping on these so we’ll know more over time.

As I get these physical items together, I’ll share the list here so you can see what I am taking.

With Event Logistics, the toughest part will be my work.  I’ll be taking, at least, a Friday off so I can leave for my adventure on a Friday morning and have two nights and three days out.  I am considering taking the following Monday off as well but I may not be able to do it.   I’m quite sure the other items like care of our year old husky, any family responsibilities, etc can be handled and delegated.  My wonderful wife is behind this project a hundred percent so I have a feeling much of this will work itself out in time.

Much of this also hinges on when the Thunders decide to arrive.  Once they do, I will pick a date that works and move forward.  At this point with the weather there is no indication of thunderstorms for at least the next two to three weeks.  Again, the voice simple said, “Now is the time to prepare…”

And that is exactly what I am doing.

 

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

Leave a Reply

