On The Road to Lammas with the Wildwood Tarot

So, in perfect timing with a large move, I got an assignment from the Universe.

It wasn’t a surprise.  I had asked for it in the first place.  About ten days ago, I realized that  in my dumb, ego filled way, I had not asked the Universe/Powers That Be what THEY would like for me to work on.  It was always on my time, always on what I wanted.  It struck me it had been a very long time since I had stepped back and simply asked for advice.

Using the upcoming First Harvest Festival of Lammas as a marker I decided to see what I needed to work on up to that point.  After Lammas, I would ask again and continue to do so.  I sat in quiet meditation and was given the information I should use my new Wildwood Tarot deck.  I set some time aside the next day and proceeded to download what I needed to know.  The results surprised me with their accuracy and strength but what should one expect when they finally take the time to ask, “Hey, Universe, what would you like for me to do?”

Since picking up the Wildwood Tarot by Mark Ryan and John Mathews, I have been overwhelmed with the connection I have with the card set.  I would venture to say it rivals my connection to the Faeries Oracle deck which is REALLY saying something.  I’ve not combined the two in a reading just because I am a bit concerned a swirling portal will open in my new apartment and  splay all manner of Fey and Wildwood denizens about the place.  Although fun, I’m afraid the mess to the surrounding area might be a bit hard to explain!  Regardless, I will give it a go in the near future and the neighbors will just have to deal with the noise.

I’ve always been very laid back about my decks and who touches or even uses them.  It’s odd to hear myself say this when I am talking about the Wildwood Tarot but I find that this deck, and this deck alone, is the only deck I will not let anyone else touch; not at this point anyway.

If you have any connection to the primal pulse of Nature/Earth energy, work with any nature based religion, or just have a calling to Mother Earth’s Dreamtime then it’s in your favor to pick up a copy of this deck.  Follow the links to the deck’s website so as to get a better feel.  For now, I am going to be very sparse with images from this deck because I want to respect the fact it’s a new deck and the images are VERY different.  If I gain permission to put more up, I most certainly will because the images by Will Worthington are absolutely stunning!

I used the Bow Spread from the included book.  I intuitively felt it matched  the question I was asking of the deck.  My “aim” for the bow was to know what I needed to know leading up to Lammas.

I also used my L-rod to choose the cards instead of choosing them myself.  I also used the L-rods to help answer any questions I had during the reading.  I’ve started doing this more as a way to clarify any confusion in a reading and to help suss out answers to questions.  Note – I’ve taken the numerous pages I wrote and parred down to the central essence of the reading.

1.) Significator – The Great Bear
(Also Judgement in a traditional Tarot deck.)  The Great Bear is the sentinel of the Passage grave.  A time of great change.  An initiate waits to be reborn.  Being reborn in the place of stillness.

2.) The Bow (The point in which to focus skills) – Knight of Stones, Horse
Healthy, physical activity.  Physical strength will be important.

3.) Conscious Limb (How do you “think” about the question) – 7 of Stones, Healing
Healing and closure on the conscious level, on the thoughts and mental aspects that have wounded me.  The deepest stages of healing is forgiveness.

4.) Spiritual Limb (How do you “feel” about the question) – The Wanderer
(Also the Fool in trad. tarot.)  A juncture.  A turning point.  A time to feel some adventure and leap.  No fear.

5.) String of the Bow (Energy of situation) – The Journey
(Also the Death card.) Leap into the dark.  Do not fear change.  Time to lay the past to rest with love and thanks.  A shifting and transition to the next phase.  Lots of momentum here.

6.) Fletching (What guides the solution) – 9 of Stones, Tradition
Lessons from the past.  Guidance will come from traditional places and sources.  Listen to the wisdom of past spirits for this is not new to them.

7.) Arrowhead (Intent of the reader.  The Outcome) – 3 of Stones, Creativity
Creative energy manifestation requires a clean and open channel that, in this case, is about to be cleared by a powerful phase of transition.  Be ready to not only listen but for your creativity to ramp up 100 fold.  Be ready for creation to spring forward as the old burns away.

Overview

It was obvious, right from the start, Spirit wanted to talk to me about this move and to reassure me.  The idea to move to our new place was concerning me a great deal and was, literally, a leap of faith (see the Wanderer card above.)  It also wanted to warn me.  I had already sensed this coming but this was confirmation this was more than just a move.  Spirit wanted me to understand that this was a SHIFT and a MOVE.  It was to not be taken lightly and it was an opportunity to leverage the move on the physical in order to make a shift on the spiritual.  The spirit of the situation, The Journey or Death, made that VERY clear to me.

The new place would be a  MUCH better place for our spirituality since it is nestled up, very nicely, against the woods and the ridge I have come to love since living in the area.  In fact, it’s the woods where most of my Earth Energy videos have been shot.  If you’ve followed my Youtube channel, you’re aware that I also recently stepped out of the broom closet and have been trying to walk my talk a bit more publicly.  This move was my chance to purge the old, stifling habits and to really integrate my inner spirituality with my everyday, physical living environment.   For instance, previousl,y my workspace had been down in a small windowless room of the basement.  Now, the plan was to make the middle level into office spaces for my wife and I and I  would be openly displaying my books and decks for my friends and family to see when they come to visit.  A first for me and a fairly big deal.

The Conscious Limb, 7 of Stones, was spot on as well as over the past ten days I have faced many opportunities to heal from past mental wounds.  For instance, I found a small box of old love letters from my first fiancee from high school.  I think they had been dropped off by my mother who found them in an old storage place.  She handed them off to me and I think in a rush not to deal with them I stuffed them in a corner.  I found mementos of my past college days and had to sort out and deal with them.  I discovered, with only a little difficulty this time, that in order to heal one has to open up, thank and release.  I’ve released a lot in the past several weeks.

In addition, the 7 of stones shows a man lying in a stone circle and being healed by the Green Woman.  I used this imagery several times as I drifted off to sleep in the evening.  Each night, I asked for healing energy and the strength to get through this time.

I had to laugh about the Knight of Stone/Horse card since I would be the one doing most of the heavy lifting.  How was I to know, during the actual move, that I would be lifting, carrying and struggling for four days in 100+ heat and humidity.  Like a horse, indeed!

Every day since the reading I focused on my path as described in this reading and pulled a card to ask for advice for my path to Lammas.  Imagine my surprise when on the morning of the first two days I drew The Great Bear twice in a row!  On the third day I drew The Journey.  Each day, more information, more aid in walking the path to Lammas.  As I write this, I have The Mirror guiding me which reminds me to ease up today, to reflect, to surrender my will and be patient.  The next few days are coming and Lammas will soon be here.   (And, today, while I edit this before posting, I’ve drawn the Ancestor card for the day before Lammas.  “The Ancestor stands before the gateway of nature which symbolizes another beginning…”)

All in all, it was a powerful reading that gave me a very clear path leading up to the coming holiday of first harvest.  Several times during the move I could see how hard we were working and see similarities to a farm family working in the field so as to get in the first harvest.  That was us and we were “reaping what we have sown.”

Sitting now in my new office space and looking out at the beautiful summer woods from my porch, I cannot say “thank you” enough and I’m curious to see what comes at Lammas with my next “assignment.”

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

6 responses to “On The Road to Lammas with the Wildwood Tarot

  • Mist

    I am quite in love with the WildWood Tarot myself. It’s been many years since I’ve felt inclined to try a new deck, but I felt connected to this one right away. I’m glad you’re enjoying and learning from it too! Looks like you have quite a bit of momentum on your side right now.

  • BR

    Thanks, Mist. Yes, it would appear the connection has definitely cleared up a bit. The trick now is to KEEP it clear. 😉 The WildWood Tarot has been one of my best gifts this year. I’m very thankful for it.

  • Eillen

    Wow Brian ! What a clear and very powerful message from the Universe !
    I hope I can find this beautiful and strong tarot in France.
    I already feel very connected with the Magical Messages from the Fairies Oracle Cards and with Archangel Michael cards also (from Doreen Virtue)
    Hope to see very soon your readings on Youtube !
    Many blessings and Namaste from Eillen.

  • shannon

    I’ve just acquired the Wildwood deck and am new to Tarot (just learning) — however, upon first seeing this deck, I was immediately drawn to it. Do you have any suggestions on getting to know the deck better to facilitate readings??

  • BR

    Shannon – Sorry for horrible delay in responding! My preferred method with this deck has been to very clearly state that I wanted to get to know it and then perform a deck interview spread.

    Here is a good post on Aeclectic Tarot that has the spread to use –
    http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=44573

    I will also state the same intention above and draw one card a day. I then remember the card as I go about my day and see how it translates out. I’ve found this, combined with the interview spread, to be VERY helpful.

    Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

