Free Throws and Dowsing

I want to make a brief comparison for anyone out there just learning dowsing, or for that matter, oracle work.

Once upon a time, in another life, I played basketball.  In basketball they have a shot called the free throw or the foul shot.  I know most of you know what I’m talking about but let me cover the basics.  For this shot you stand on a line 15 feet away from a hoop placed 10 feet in the air and with a diameter of approximately 18 inches.  You take a basketball that’s 29.5 inches in circumference and try, looking as smooth as possible, to lob it through the basket without your feet going over the line.  If you accomplish this task, you get a point and, depending on the score of the game, a tremendous round of applause.

When I shot my first set of 10 free throws, I would guess I had a percentage of 10%.  Yes, I might have hit one.  After instruction and a year of practice, the percentage jumped dramatically to something around 50%.  It was only after YEARS of practice and literally thousands of free throw practice shots was I able to regularly hit 7 out of 10.  Professionals in the sport, after an entire life of playing the game, never attain 100%.  As a matter of fact, the record is held by Mark Price with 90%.  He played 12 years as a professional and who knows how many years of practice and playing before then?

So, with this in mind and the comparisons in place, I want to ask a question.  Why do people attempt to go out dowsing or reading cards and then claim it doesn’t work after a single failed attempt?  After five or six failed attempts?  Ten?  Twenty?  I think you see where I’m going.

In regards to reading cards or dowsing, please keep the following in mind – be kind to yourself!  Don’t give up.  Try to practice every day if possible.  Remember, you’re attempting to learn a very intricate balance of coordination between physical and mental states.  Like a foul shot, you have to train repeatedly and then learn how to get out of the way of that training.   You also have to be in a calm and centered mental state.  It’s not a perfect comparison, I know, but it IS something to keep in mind when you are starting out.  Don’t let yourself get discouraged.

And just think of it this way – free throw shooting is actually EASIER than dowsing.  With free throws, you can at least see what you’re aiming for!

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

Leave a Reply

