Youthful Beginnings

I thought I’d relate a small story that occurred this morning.  Our weekday mornings are pretty routine and my 6th grade daughter has become pretty self-sufficient in getting ready.  She makes her lunch, gets her things together and, occasionally, goes out to wait for me in the car as it warms up and I wrap up last minute things in the house before leaving for work.  Today was no different.  Well, until I got out to the car that is.

As I walked up to the car I see her sitting in the passenger seat holding one of my copper L-rods in the classic “ready” position.  I had left it in the area between the two front seats over the weekend and she had discovered it.   The L-rod was angled slightly off center to her and she had a look on her face like she’d been zapped with electricity.  As I sat down in the car she didn’t try to hide the rod, she knows me better than that.  She knew I didn’t care if she was messing with it.

“So, it appears you found something to do while you waited,” I said as I got in and buckled up.

“Yhup,” was her eloquent response.

“Did it work?”

“Yeah!  It did!  I asked it to find the steering wheel and it did!”

I simply nodded.  “Well, that’s pretty good. How did you figure out how to use it?  From watching me?”

“No,” she said and as I recovered she explained she had learned from her brother.

“Your brother?  Really?  He taught you?”  She nodded her head at me and set the rod down.  Never forget, I reminded myself, kids pay attention to EVERYTHING.  I also made a mental note  to take both of them through a introductory course for dowsing.  “You, uhm, realize that I never taught your brother how to do it?”

She looked puzzled, “You didn’t?  Wow.  That’s weird, uh?  Well, he knew and it still worked.  I found the steering wheel!  And when I asked it to find the radio, it did that too!  And then, I asked it to find the radio station and,” she pointed over her shoulder in a direction that I knew pointed to the radio station, “it pointed that way.”

I stopped what I was doing.  “Wait.  Hold up.  Did you know where the radio station was before you asked?”

“Nope,” was her simple reply.  “I had no clue.  Was I right?  Was it right?”

Full realization dawned on me and all I could do was nod my head. “Yeah.  You were right.  It’s over that way.”  Eleven years old and she was already off to the dowsing races.

“Cool!!!” was her response.  “I bet I can find all sorts of stuff with this thing!”

“Well, one thing at a time, crazy lady.”  I was awarded with a giggle.  “Why don’t I show you, and your brother, more about this later in the week?”

She nodded her head vigorously and gave me a thumbs up.  I backed the car out and we proceeded with our morning.  During the short ride, I gave her a brief primer about being respectful, asking permissions and how it seemed to work from our own psychic sensitivity.  “You mean the spirits don’t move it around?” she asked.

“Not, well, not necessarily,” I replied and ended up having to go with the default, “We’ll talk about it later.”

She was kind enough to accept the dodge.

After I dropped her off to school, I wondered if we had just shared a moment that, twenty years from now, when she was writing on her blog or the forward to her book, “It all started when I was bored in my Dad’s car and I found one of his dowsing rods…”

The concept of teaching my kids had occurred to me but I didn’t want them to feel like I was forcing it on them.  I felt it was important for it to come naturally.  Now, it seemed that at least one of them definitely wants to learn and the other, the brother, has been paying very close attention to some of my stories while feigning disinterest.

I guess it’s time to see how good of a teacher I can be!

About Rustus

I've been working with the metaphysical for several decades now. With divination, dowsing and my intuition, I've found a deep and peaceful connection with Nature, it's spirits and with something far bigger than myself. View all posts by Rustus

2 responses to “Youthful Beginnings

Leave a Reply

