Invitation to the Four Sisters

Last Friday I had another amazing experience at the park featuring the KL Line.  Let me tell you a bit of background before we get into the story.  I’ve been coming to this park for almost two years.  Sometimes to just read, walk around, study nature, do some birdwatching or, on occasion, do tarot readings and do some dowsing.  Off to the side is a particular shelter house I go to when I just want to sit at a table, have lunch and either work or let the world go by.

Lately, over the past two or three weeks, I was beginning to notice the minute I started doing any kind of activities involving energy work I seemed to attract park workers and visitors.  Several times I would enjoy a few minutes of peace and quiet, decide to get my cards and then, wah-lah, the park crew shows up with a mower, a weed-eater or a trashbag to pick up the trash in the shelterhouse.  Park visitors would walk by, children from the small playground a decent space away would somehow “wander over.”  Was I starting to glow a bit TOO brightly?  What was going on?  One day I even did an experiment where I purposefully “summoned” park maintenance by opening my tarot deck.  After that I decided I needed to find “someplace” to do my work in the park that was not so much in the public eye.

This particular visit I was hunkering down in the shade of the shelter house and getting away from the oppressive heat wave as best I could.  I was working on a project.

As stated earlier, my first forays into this realm involved spirit contact and channeling.  When I first started dowsing, it was with a pendulum and a letterboard.  Using my knowledge up to that point, I was very curious with what I would get.  I was not disappointed but as I worked with the pendulum, I was dissatisfied with the slowness of the process and the letterboard.  First the pendulum had to recover from swinging towards one letter and then gain momentum to swing to the next.  After beginning work with L-Rods this Spring I realized they were much faster and so, for the past several months, I’ve been thinking of how to use the dowsing rods in the same way but also make it portable.

I hit on an idea and it was those supplies I had spread out in front of me at my picnic table.  I was delighted to see the heat had driven everyone indoors, even the park workers.  I had just begun the initial test run when the wind picked up.  I arranged my papers, weighted a few down and started again.  The wind blew again.  I stopped and the wind died down.  I tried again and the wind blew as if on cue. I stopped.  The wind disappeared.  I took a deep breath, began again and this time it blew so hard that the L-rods were useless.  I sensed something was playing with me so I stopped what I was trying to do.  Sure enough, the wind stopped.

“Are you trying to get my attention?” I asked whatever it was and my dowsing rods crossed into the “Yes” position.  Are you a wind spirit?  No.  Are you a spirit?  Yes.  Are you a local spirit?  Yes.

Through a series of yes/no questions I dowsed that “Whatever It Was” was wanting to show me something and that I should follow where it pointed.  I packed up my things and with a single L-Rod in my hand instructed, “Lead on, MacDuff.”

The rods pointed southward and toward a line of pine trees.  I began strolling that way and watching the L-rod for any deviation.  It was straight on.  I walked about another 50 yards and I saw it was now pointing to a maple tree left standing in the long row of pines.  The maple was tucked up near the park fence and its canopy connected to other trees that were on private property.  And it was no ordinary maple tree! Though not large it was a four trunked tree.  I’d seen many two and an occasional three trunked one but to see a healthy four trunked maple tree was something I had not seen before.  The area was shaded, level and looked wonderfully peaceful.  I used the single L-rod for yes/no questions.  Moving to the left meant “no” and to the right meant, “yes.”

“Are you trying to show me something here?”  Yes.  “Are you wanting me to see this place?” YES!   Finally getting to the area and seeing that it was a small depression in the ground I realized that between that,  the screen of small pines and the thicker trees on the private property, I was nearly invisible here!  It was shaded, cooler and large enough for me to walk around.  It also gave me a wonderful view of the Eastern sky.  “Did you lead me here so I could do work here?”  Yes.

I was then hit with the sense of happiness and peacefulness.  I felt like I had been given, yet again, a special gift.   I gave thanks and began dowsing for more information.  The area was filled with a strong female energy which was coming, mainly, from the four trunked maple tree.   I asked if any of the trunks were male at all and was given a “no.”

“So, you’re four sisters?” and my rod literally spun around in my hand!

I also noticed there were small grey feathers around the place.  Throughout the visit I found six, five from one species and one from another.  I collected them and gave thanks for their owners sacrifice.

“Are you the spirit that blew the wind.” No.  “It was someone/something else?” Yes.  “Are you connected to it?” Yes.  “Was it a human spirit?” No.  I asked several more questions and got negative answers.  I was actually starting to get stumped and then, like most riddles, it popped into my head.

“Was it the Genius Loci, the spirit of the Place?”  Yes.  “The spirit of the park?” YES!  It felt like confetti was thrown and, literally, a summer breeze rolled over me.  It’s really hard to describe the level of connection that occurs when these things begin to fall into place.  Of course, I had that moment of “Oh, so this is what going mad is like!” but because of that level of connection I really didn’t care.  As I like to joke, “Going mad feels pretty damn good!”

I spent the rest of my time there simply finding a powerful spot to sit and taking in the energy.  I had been given a spot to work.  I was elated and honored.   I left a small pile of tobacco there.

Now, if the heat would just let up I could actually enjoy it.

2 responses to “Invitation to the Four Sisters

Leave a Reply

