Into the Sun

I took a walk yesterday.

It was a calling that came from deep inside and it was the first urging I’ve felt since my companion’s passing.  The signal was completely clear.  I was to go to the nearby park at lunchtime and walk around the wooded path near the K1 Node.  I didn’t even know where I was to start or where I was going.  All I knew was to go to the start of the path.

Even a temperature of 98, a heat index of 110 and a blazing sun did little to sway me.  There was little choice.  I was going.

I stepped out of my car and, following the instruction from my rods, I got started.  The heat was oppressive in my business clothes but I strolled slowly onward.  I didn’t ask too many questions.  I just listened and went where the rods pointed.  I knew, in my core, I was just here to receive information.  They pointed to the beginning of the path which I already knew would be my starting point.  Once there, however, they took me in a direction I had not expected.

The first stop was an open meadow with no shade.  I grumbled at first because I was already streaming sweat.  However, I paused and stood where the rods told me.  I relaxed, trying to let the heat flow through me.  Then, as I relaxed and centered, the meadow opened up to me.  Butterflies.  Butterflies, unaffected by the heat, were everywhere. I think I saw six to eight different species including my favorite, a monarch which fluttered out of the woods at me and flew within inches of my face.  Suddenly, the heat disappeared and I was mesmerized.  I stood in the baking sun, feeling the sun soak deep into my skin, my muscles, with butterflies dancing all around me.  It was wonderful.

Then, I felt something fall off of me.  It wasn’t physical.  It was a chunk of something, something stuck to me since my weeks of grief and stress.  I lifted the rods again and asked if I should stay here longer.  They now pointed down the trail.  Time to keep going.

The rods took me around and back again into the woods.  I relaxed and strolled.  A breeze suddenly played in the treetops and then pushed down the path, coming up behind me and over me.  Even a warm breeze was a relief and I let out a heavy sigh to accompany it on it’s journey eastward.  Something else fell off of me.  I noted it, said my thanks and moved on.  As I walked the loud drone of the cicadas were almost hypnotizing.

The rate of feeling something release off of me increased.  What has been sudden breaks and chunks now became a flow of smaller particles all floating off me, drifting away in the sunlight and sinking into the earth.  In my mind I pictured Pigpen from the Peanuts and his constant trail of stuff trailing behind him.  All the strife and grief was falling away and I asked for it to sink into Mother Earth instead of leaving it laying around.

All in all, I was instructed to walk a figure eight path which took me again through the small central meadow again before heading to the western side of the walk.  Again, in the small meadow, butterflies danced around me.  I was instructed to stop again.  I did and this time the sun surrounded me, pressed into me.  It was like a sauna but it felt comforting, supportive.  Sweat streamed down my face, into my eyes, down my neck.  I closed my eyes.  It felt like I was shedding my skin and I stretched in the heat.   It felt so good I started crying and the last of all the bad pieces were obliterated, sharding off of me in all directions and, suddenly, the world opened up to me.  It seemed information was downloading into me at a rapid rate so fast I wasn’t even able to really comprehend everything coming in.

Suddenly, it was all okay.  All of it.  I started moving again.

Letting my hands drift over the top of the high grass I moved onward in a blissful state.  Near the end of the walk, a dragonfly with delicate wings of lightning landed directly next to me on a grass stalk.  I paused and looked at him.  He was beautiful.  From the Medicine Cards —

“Dragonfly medicine is of the dreamtime and the illusionary facade we accept as physical reality. The iridescence of Dragonfly’s wings reminds us of colors not found in our everyday experience. Dragonfly’s shifting of color, energy, form, and movement explodes into the mind of the observer, bringing vague memories of a time or place where magic reigned.. Have you tended to the changes you have wanted to make in your life?”

I stared at him a long time and admired his wings which he had no trouble showing off to me.  I heard the message and gave my thanks.  The minute I did so he flew off and a breeze once again blew down the path.

Two steps later, a garter snake danced across the grass in front of me.  Transmutation.  An act of converting base metals into silver and gold.  More confirmation on the shedding of an old skin.  The snake paused briefly to look at me.  I said, “Hello,” and he too bolted for higher grass.   Once again, message received loud and clear!

Again from the Medicine Cards –

“Their initiation involves experiencing and living through multiple snake bites, which allows them to transmute all poisons, be they mental, physical, spiritual, or emotional…there is a need within you to transmute some thought, action, or desire so that wholeness may be achieved. This is heavy magic, but remember, magic is no more than a change in consciousness. Become the magician or the enchantress: transmute the energy and accept the power of the fire.”

I knew at that point, I was finished with my walk.  The end was also heralded by two crows (I’ve mentioned the crows, right?)  that suddenly launched themselves from a tree further down and flew towards my car.  What else was there for me to do at that point but to give thanks for everything I had been given and follow them?

At the end of the walk I checked with the rods to double check I was, indeed, finished?  Yes was the reply.  I smiled though because it didn’t feel like I was done at all.  It felt like I was just getting started!

As I walked, I reviewed everything.

  • Butterflies – transformation, beauty, grace.
  • Cicadas – help in transformation, rebirth-renewel-regeneration.
  • Dragonflies – Dreamtime, Illusion, Guide to transformation
  • Snake- Shamanic/magical power and transmutation.  Also of note is that Snake has been my totem for dowsing work since I first began working with it.
  • A Figure 8 – Infinity, resurrection.
  • The Sun – Solar energy. Powerful cleansing.  Forward movement.  Fire.

All of it occurring in under an hour.  If I couldn’t muddle my way through those symbols then I wasn’t really cut out for all of this, now was I?  And, the final point which struck me as I left the woods and felt the sun’s heat encase me again?  It had been exactly two weeks to the day since my dear companion’s passing.

Message received loud and clear, old friend.


4 responses to “Into the Sun

Leave a Reply

