A Midsummer’s Dowsing, Part One

This is part one of a three part post featuring my dowsing work with a very old tree a few days before Summer Solstice.  A tale of forests, brambles, magic and hubris.

During a session dowsing for earth energies last year, I was given the location of a smaller power spot in a public park not too far from my house.   The park is well used and I had to do that session in the early hours of a cold Sunday morning.  I did find a small power spot with a minor line running through it as well.  At the end of that session, I asked, “Is there anything else you want to show me?” and received a very strong yes.

My pendulum had led me clear to the other side of the park and into a long strip of thick woods that ran along the western perimeter of the park.  As I followed, it took me in a direct line to a massive tulip tree, one of the largest I’ve ever seen.   I was running out of time when this happened so I made my greeting, my thanks and headed back home a little swirly and stunned by the whole encounter.

Nearly a year later and brandishing my shiny copper rods this time, I made it back over the Solstice weekend.

Most of Indiana was heavily logged during it’s settlement and its only been in the past 50 to 60 years or less that areas have been allowed to grow back.  Through the State and National parks system as well as a very good City Park system, large sections of area that used to be farmland have returned to a natural state.

Occasionally, you can still find an old ancient tree that a farmer spared either for decoration or because it offered shade for his livestock or for himself.  Because of this it’s always special to come across an older historic tree.  One of the things I’ve wanted to start doing with the dowsing work is to find and catalog some of these older trees in the area.  I also wanted to see what energy lines or patterns I could pick up around these older trees and I wanted to use the tulip as my first “subject.”

The weather here lately is about two to three weeks ahead of schedule.  (I noticed this in the early Spring when the migratory birds began showing up two weeks or more ahead of schedule.)  The days are hot and humid.  The thunderstorms have been strong and violent.  Temps coast upwards to 90 degrees with a standard 80% humidity.  Typical weather in Indiana if it were July or August but not really June.  Saturday afternoon was no exception with the forecast being humid with a possibility of bug bites, poison ivy blisters and heat exhaustion.

I only had a small window of a few hours to do things so I dashed to my car with my trusty daypack and camera bag and drove to the park a short distance away.  The place was crowded with a BBQ in session, walkers/runners, and folks enjoying the weather.  (Yes, there are people that like to run in this weather.   And they think I’m weird for having some dowsing rods!!!)   Since it had been a year, I couldn’t remember exactly where the tree was located and had a small fear of pushing through the brambles and undergrowth for two hours and never finding it again.  Getting out of sight from all those “normal” souls, I pulled out the rods and immediately got a solid lock on the direction.  The next challenge was finding a place in the tree line where I could easily enter.  Again, most of the woods and forests in my area are relatively young so the undergrowth can be a bit daunting at times.  Again, the rods gave me a direction, I followed and sure enough, they led me to a deer/game trail coming out of the woods between two thick bramble bushes.  In I went!

Once in the shade of the trees, things were more comfortable though still humid.  Mosquitoes were, thankfully, few and far between.  I was also screened from curious eyes and felt a bit more comfortable working with the rods.  I had gone into the woods a bit north of my target so I began moving southward.   I eventually found a game trail that helped me navigate the brambles a bit better.   Since storms had pounded our area for the past several days in a row, the going was a bit muddy and treacherous.  I took occasional readings with the rods and they unerringly kept pointing to the same spot to the south.  I slogged onward, following animal paths as I could.

Going down a narrow game trail, I had to pause as an odd color caught my eye; purple.  I knelt down and saw a small cylindrical object maybe half an inch long.  I pulled out of the mud what I, at first, thought was a small spindle of purple thread.

Turned out it was something a bit more than that.  I’m not sure what you would call it but after pushing a small black button on the side it began flashing green and purple LED lights.



What a great find!  A child’s toy?  Part of a keychain?  Had it been carried here by a curious raccoon?  Rain? Something else?  I had the fleeting thought I could use this as a possible gift to the tree when I found it.  (Trust me, this is important to remember for later.)

Moving on, I continued to follow the rods and sure enough, they took me directly to the tree.  It really is a spectacular site to see it standing in a forest of thinner, more common ones.  I felt the same wave of awe and respect wash over me as when I first saw it.  Asking if I could approach I got a solid “Yes.”  I also asked if I could do some dowsing work and received another positive.  I snapped away with my digital camera but the only way I could find to really show the scale was to place my backpack at its base.  After doing that, I placed my equipment further away and got to work.

One of the first questions I asked was, “When I return is there a direction you would prefer to be approached from?  An entrance area, so to speak?”  I was led to a spot about 35 feet away to the south and, interestingly enough, a narrow trail.   I then began to dowse for the trees nemeton, an area of energy influence or aura.  (Thanks again to the Hedge Druid for introducing me to the term.)

I will typically use my own stride  to measure out a distance if I do not have any other way to do it.   This was a little more difficult as the scrub and terrain got in the way.  By careful choice of angles that offered me the easiest path to the tree, I was able to get a very solid and circular reading of roughly 30 feet out from the trunk.  (Notice that the spot to respectfully enter to the south was roughly three to five feet outside the nemeton.)

Moving closer to the tree’s trunk, I continued asking questions and dowsing the answers with the rods.  The tree was female and I asked if it was alright to call her “Grandmother.”  It was.  Following an idea I had read somewhere I dowsed her age.  I first asked if she was over 100 years old.  Yes.  Over 125?  Yes.  130?  Yes.  This continued and she was over 150 years old.  I did not press more for an actual date. Tulip trees are known for being long lived.  Regardless, it meant she had been planted or grown sometime before 1860 and quite possibly could have been old enough to have seen the first settlers to the area in the late 1700/early 1800’s.  Stopping to think about that alone was enough to entertain my brain for hours.  What did this area look like over a hundred years ago?  Over 150?  Was it a farm?  Was it a wood?  I will have to attempt a dowsing of her age next time I go back.  If she proves to be one of the original ones from that time it will open up a whole new line of thought.  Should I point her out to a historical society?  The county?  Can a tree receive a “protected” status and/or would that just bring more “traffic” to an area that is, at this point, completely unknown.

I then went on to ask if there were any energy lines coming off the tree and if they were male or female?  I was told there was one male line, one female.  I was led to the strongest female line which went northward around 6-7 feet, drifted down and towards a carved cut in the ground by a small rivulet of a creek.  Passing under the small rivulet, it then twisted around and finished in a spiral underneath a thick stand of grapevine, brambles and scrub.  I then asked for the strongest male line and was pointed westward.  I picked up that line and it extended about the same distance away perhaps a little longer but then spiraled in a wide, open space.  With a smile, I realized this space would get the most sun later in the day, a perfect spot for sun/male energy.

Having received the information I wanted the most, I put the rods down and spent some quiet time under her branches and leaning against her strength.  Finishing that connection and inwardly knowing I was running out of time, I asked if there was anything else she wanted to show me.  I find this question can lead to many surprises and should not be ignored.  The rods turned to the east and I was led to another older tulip tree, but not as old or as large as she was, just outside her nemeton.  As I looked, I saw there were at least three other tulip trees in that area, all of them well over 50 years old.  Her children.  She pointed me to one in particular which turned out to have a male energy, her son, and I said my hellos.

I then revealed that I had a small gift in the form of a crystal which I had brought from home.  I asked for her to show me where it would do the most good.  The rods spun a bit and I was shown a spot approximately five feet out from her trunk and in a direct line with the younger male tree I had just been pointed to.  I cleared the brush away and placed the crystal carefully.

Finishing up and already feeling their presence since I came into the treeline, I decided to venture a little further into the unknown (or perhaps otherwise known as the “silly unknown.”)  I asked the following questions that I had felt to ask.

  • Are there any Fey about this area? Yes.
    (I use the term Fey to designate Nature Spirits of all shapes and sizes.  I’ll be focusing on this in the very near future.)
  • Is this tree a special place for them?  Slight yes.
  • Perhaps a meeting place?  Yes.
  • Are they around right now?  Yes.
  • Is there a place for them nearby?  Yes.
  • Could I come back and be shown that place?  Yes
  • Would it be rude of me to do so?  No

At this point I asked the rods to show me the direction and got a very strong and solid hit.  I marked it down for a project in the future.  And, yes, this is important to remember for the end of my little tale of hubris.

I dowsed if I was on schedule with my time and got an affirmative but only if I left immediately.  I wrapped up my work, said a very special thank you to the Grandmother and then gathered my things.  As an afterthought I asked, “Is there a direction that would be the best for me to leave from?”  I was shown the same game trail that was to be used as the entrance.  I bowed a final time and with a smile on my face headed down the game trail.

Sure enough, it found a wider trail a little further along which, in a few hundred feet, put me out of the treeline and on a mowed grass path back to the parking lot.  I placed the rods back into my daypack and walked out.  The going out was much easier than the going in!  Mission Accomplished!

Or so I thought…

~~~ The Tale Continues HERE. ~~~

6 responses to “A Midsummer’s Dowsing, Part One

Leave a Reply

