Advance Presents

One of the things I find interesting about being on this path I am on is how, it would appear, the Universe likes to give me presents in advance.  This happens when something comes into your life and at the time you have no idea what to do with it yet something compels you to keep it.  Then, one day, you find the item and it’s exactly what you’ve been looking for, whether you knew you were looking for it or not!

For instance, one of my boys has recently taken an intense interest in runes, tarot, and oracles.  When he picked up his first “Wizardology” book about two years ago, I got a big clue.   Previous clues had been his interest in mythological monsters, bigfoot, and the Loch Ness monster.  (As a disclaimer, I had nothing consciously to do with it since I’m a big believer in letting children find their own interests. )  A few weeks ago, he found a bag of tarot cards and a crystal at a friend’s yard sale.  Last week, he honored me in ways he will not fully understand for years to come when he asked me to teach him more about runes and tarot.

So, we took a little walk, had a little talk, and we discussed things.   That evening we did our first rune reading and, gently, we got him on his own, different path,  Knowing we would be building up towards tarot cards I realized I wanted to dust off my own deck.

However, I wasn’t sure I had one.

Flash backwards with me over 15 years.  I own several decks put I’d discovered the Medicine Cards and other card systems out there that do not rely on standard Tarot imagery.  I stumbled upon a tarot deck that seems very unusual and also very discounted. It’s foreign.  I’ve never seen it before.  It’s seems overdone.  It’s a bit brash, almost baroque.  I’m not sure I really like it but it’s unusual and might be a nice collection piece.  I go ahead and pick it up.  I then go back to working with my other cards and it goes onto a shelf in my meditation space.

Flash back forwards through years of transformation.  For one reason or another I find that I cannot give away this odd Italian deck.  Every move, every downsize, I look at it, shake my head and think again, “Well, it’s a good collection piece since it’s obviously out of print.”  It comes with me on moves.  It always goes in the box when others are handed off to friends.  I don’t understand why but my intuition always tells me to keep it.  So, I do.

That evening, after spending time with my son, I’m looking for a tarot deck to dust off.  Most of my collection has been given away, lost, or simple wandered off.  I wonder if, perhaps, I’m going to have to go out and purchase a deck.  I find two decks.  One is the Fradella/Superhero deck which I used mainly for fun writing exercises.  The other is, you guessed it, the old boxed up tarot deck.  I take it down.  It feels different.  It’s been years since I looked at it.  I curiously open it up.  The cards are still mint and in order.  They smell new.  The thickish book, written in Italian, is still crisp.  I realize I’m not so turned off by the images.   In an odd way, the symbols works for me.   I could work with this deck and it would make a fun piece to use in a reading for someone.  Almost with a spark, I smile and begin to realize what, over the past decade, has just occurred.

The cover card.

The back of the cards.

Fool and Magician.

The Tarocchi delle Stelle, Tarot of the Stars, was published by Dal Negro in Italy in 1991 and created by Giorgio Tavaglione. I’ve done research on the web and it seems rather hard to find.  It seems to be a bit more valuable than your other standard tarot decks.  I was right about the collection piece part!  I’m not sure it will become my “main” deck anytime soon but it seems to have come along at just the right time.

It’s a lovely advance present.

One response to “Advance Presents

  • jesamac

    The advance present I like most in this blog was your son asking for your guidance. *That* will provide many more gifts over the years to come. It’s the people we deal with on this that are our greatest gifts!

Leave a Reply

