First Steps

When I wandered into that bookstore in 1986, I had no idea the choices I was about to make would affect the rest of my life.  I was just going in to browse, kill some time.  Today, the bookstore no longer exists.  The mall it once resided in held a greeting card shop, a JCPenney, and a fairly decent arcade but the large building has now been turned into a huge farm supply store.  Today, locals barely remember there was a mall there at all.

After kicking around the bookstore for awhile, I happened upon a small paperback called “Seth Speaks.”  I’m not really sure why I picked it up but I remember being intrigued.  I was in the mood for something different and something involving “channelling” and the written journal of a entity called Seth sounded like just the ticket.  As I walked to the counter, I also noticed a runestone kit on sale.  “Why not?” I thought to myself, “I seem to be on a roll anway.”   I liked vikings, right?  I tossed the runestone kit onto the paperback, paid the clerk in cash, and completely unaware of what path I had just decided to walk down, left the store to go back to my small student dorm room.

It wasn’t a purchase that I would say was “out of character” for me.  I grew up with stories of ghosts.  Growing up I had noticed my rockhound grandparents had a slightly more than passing interest in crystals, copper bracelets, and psychic phenomena.  They kept it on the down low but, as children do, I saw it in the background.  As a child I was intrigued and terrorified of Bigfoot, my Mother still loves a good UFO story and as a child I would also get premonitions about things about to happen.  In high school, I did a ten page report on Project Blue Book.  The paranormal was not “new” to me.

However, it was that singular purchase which laid the groundwork for all that was to come, including this very blog you are reading now.  The book got it’s hooks into me.  The runes were fascinating and from that day forward I started to voraciously read everything I could get my hands on in regards to channeling, automatic writing, psychic phenomena, and, in short, the paranormal.  Over the years that passed I worked with the runes, learned more than I bargained for about nature spirits, transitioned to tarot cards as well as other oracles.  I began spending more and more time in the woods, amidst nature, and just listening, watching.  I found there was an intense communication possible there as well.

Through all of it I  tried to maintain a very level-headed approach.  I was curious about these things but I didn’t want to jump in without really taking a hard look at all the angles.  I read articles and books on debunking as well.  Regardless, I found that time after time the volume of personal experiences and coincidences simply became far to large to ignore.  I began to transition towards the idea that this world was a lot more broad and amazing then I had originally thought possible.

20+ years later here I am and I’ve decided to craft up a blog about it all.   This is something I’ve wanted to do for years but felt a little intimidated about stepping forward into the public eye.  These days, though, I’m a bit older and a bit more grounded in what I know and do.  My goal is to really just jump off and talk about anything that comes onto my radar.  By anything I do mean ANYTHING;  paranormal experiences, other web sites, current stories, other dimensions, spirit guides, cryptozoology, dowsing, ancient cultures, Fey/Nature spirits, oracle readings, Fortean stories, etc.    I’m looking forward to conversations with other grounded folk as well, people that are also moving along their own different path.

I also know that when you start something like this it’s impossible to plan on where it might go or what might happen!  Who knows, putting this blog out there might one day equate to walking into a bookstore and making an eccentric purchase?  Only time will tell.

One response to “First Steps

Leave a Reply

